Richard Florida at Googleplex

May 19, 2008

Richard Florida visits Googles headquarters to discuss his book “Who’s Your City?: How the Creative Economy Is Making Where to Live the Most Important Decision of Your Life.” This event took place on March 28, 2008

This is an hour presentation. It has been fantastic listening to him. There are many things that I could comment about it. I like the idea of the importance of taking decissions on where to live. I have been also surfing Florida’s site Who’s Your City, and I specially enjoyed the maps sections.

I have to say that the two main critics I had about him have him addressed. The first one, is that the there is no correlation on this issues, as he says in the economic phenomenon things are very complex, “association” better fits the term. The second thing, is that while looking at the new megaregions, he’s using number of patents to measure innovation. Which I consider with too many flaws, specially at the international level, but in the video he said something: “Using number of patents is quite a rude thing to do, it could have been done better…”.

He got me convinced.

2 Responses to “Richard Florida at Googleplex”


  1. […] I already watched a video of a recent presentation, so many things he said were familiar to me. I put a link to the website of the book. Here I’m writing some of the things that I considered while I was reading the book. I will later share other ideas about the book. […]


  2. […] January, 2009 Since Richard Florida keeps quoting Jane Jacobs (1916-2006), and he even said several people thought she should have received the Nobel Prize in Economics, and on the local-regional development literature, she’s known for the Jacobian externalities. I […]


Comments are closed.

