My supervisors

June 9, 2008

My main supervisor is Anne Lorentzen and my secondary supervisor is Phil Cooke.

From my previous post “How not to get a PhD” it was stressed the importance of the supervisor for a successful completion of your PhD. Well, I’m quite happy with my both supervisors. It’s not unusual in Aalborg to have two supervisors, which I like, because you get two different mentors.  

I’m not going to start saying good things about them, because although they currently don’t know I have this humble blog, perhaps in the future they will find out.

I will just say they’re good academic people. Anne is quite enthusiast about our project, and I love that. Phil Cooke, is an outstanding scholar. It’s amazing talking to him and see how intelligent he is.

They both have very different backgrounds, and different beliefs and interests. So is great to have them. I think they will be complementary for my work. Last week we had PhD course and it was very interesting. I have learned a lot.

2 Responses to “My supervisors”

  1. Dani Says:

    Do you think stagflation is allways followed by recession or are there real means come back for an economic recuperation?
    I’m talking about this because now as you know Spain & other countries are going thru this stage.

  2. carlos9900 Says:

    Thanks Dani for the question. My background is in business and economics, but I’m not a hard core economist. One of the reasons is because I don’t believe in many of these classical theories.
    Concerning current Spain, it’s still hard to say that is in a clear economic recession. However, it’s true that it presents some stagflation features.
    I honestly don’t know what’s going to happen, neither the goverments knows, nor any economist. Every time there has been slow groth there has been different way to evolve. In fact that’s what I’m more in tune with the evolutionary economics, which subscribe that economy can go anywhere, and that basically you can not predict using macroeconomic figures.


Comments are closed.

