“Economic Crisis” in Denmark and in the USA (II)

July 16, 2009

6 months ago I looked at how many times the term “economic crisis” and “økonomisk krise” were mentioned in the most popular newspapers of the USA (New York Times) and Denmark (Jyllands-Posten) respectively. I’m proud of this entry because it’s one of the most visited. So this summer I was kind of interested to see a comparison looking at the first 6 months of 2009.

It is important to notice that I have multiplied times 2, the corresponding figure for the first half of the year. So the 2009 “result” will actually be the final result, if they mentioned the term exactly the same times between and July and December, as they have done from January to the end of June.

So this is how it looks the agreement of both newspapers. Comparing it with the 1994-2008 graph You can draw your own conclussions.
The term "economic crisis /økonomisk krise" mentioned in New York Times and Jyllands-Posten respectively (1994-2009). Note that 2009 is only based on the first half of the year.

Now I’m really busy, trying to write a paper for a journal before my wife gives birth in the next days, but whenever I need a break from the paper, I will add the consumer confidence chart.

3 Responses to ““Economic Crisis” in Denmark and in the USA (II)”


  1. First of all, good luck with the child!

    That’s a pretty interesting observation and the chart you provided. I just wonder what might have happened in Denmark between 2001-2007 that it was mentioned more often then in the US.

    Thanks for the post. Although I must admit I don’t like how the media presents economic crisis to the public.

    • carlos9900 Says:

      Thank you!
      One of the caveats it’s that they don’t have to talk about the “economic crisis” in their country. For example, they might have been mentioning the term regarding the Argentinian “economic crisis” (1999-2002). So, from this chart we can’t draw that there is more “economic crisis” in the USA or in Denmark at any given time. We can only say that each key newspaper talked more about it. Anyways I completelly agree with you about the media and its presentation of the economic crisis. See my post https://carlos9900.wordpress.com/2009/01/21/media-people-stock-market-


Comments are closed.

