Norway, a case of economic development

September 24, 2010

I have never been in Norway, although it is pretty close from here North Denmark. I think all the people of Spain, coming from the most southern point of Europe feel a lot of curiosity about the most northern one. I find its history so interesting. How being such a poor place more than century ago 1/3 of their population (the youngest some say) emigrated to the USA. And now, they’re the richest people in the world. Ok, Qatar or UAE have highest ones, but it’s not as equally distributed as with Norway.

I have good Norwegian friends. Last week I was talking with a Norgewian professor and she was telling me she was planning to sell her cabin in the mountains and buy a place in Barcelona. That is because she loved the region and also because prices were so cheap now in Spain. I asked her if the housing crisis did not really affected Norway (I remember reading an article in NYT that said that if affected but not so much), and she replied with a smile and resignation expression. -“Crisis? In Norway?”-

That is right I forgot. They don’t have crisis.

Then we talked about the oil, and how they’re so rich because of this. She mentioned that the British population could be in the same situation, because they have similar access to oil quantities of oil in the North Sea, but instead BP owned them. In the case of Norway is state owned. (You don’t have to be Venezuela! :)

A Norwegian researcher told me that they don’t pay tuition in the US, as a policy inherited from the Marshall Plan. I can’t believe it.

Here I share with you the UN Human Development Index in which it shows how Norway has the advantageous position.

Wikipedia also shows some rankings in which Norway’s position regarding their high gdp per capita. See article.

But, then she also told me how many people have become very arrogant, thinking that they have become rich because of how smart they are, and not the oil. And, about injustices against immigrants. I don’t think it was so bad, as compared to other countries, but she was worried.

Norway, a country to keep in mind. Not only for its economic development formula, but its anthropological evolution.

2 Responses to “Norway, a case of economic development”

  1. The Destructionist Says:

    If you haven’t already watched the documentary, Capitalism: A Love Story, then I highly suggest you do.

    At first, the trailers made it sound like it was a joke. I thought it was going to be another one of those propaganda films pitting “Bleeding-heart Liberals” against “Right-wing Neocons” (you know the kind), but it wasn’t like that at all. Instead, the film was serious and focused primarily on corporations and their zeal to maximize their profits at all costs and with total disregard to the people or to the countries they might ultimately affect.

    A part of the film that I found especially intriguing was the presentation of a document written by Citigroup that was sent to the wealthiest of its investors; essentially stating that America was no longer a Democracy, but a Plutonomy (an economy run and powered – not by people like you and me – but by corporations and the wealthiest 1%). To be honest, I thought the document was made up bullshit and I’d never be able to find it online. ((After all, who’d be so brazen (or so stupid) as to compile such information and then let it get out into the public?)) But I was wrong, and it is real:

    Equity Strategy
    Plutonomy: Buying Luxury, Explaining Global Imbalances

    As I read, page-after-page, I could feel my eyes growing wider and wider in utter disbelief (My God…I mean, it was like reading a manual on how to successfully turn our world into George Orwell’s, “1984”)!

    I have to say that I’m rather embarrassed that I didn’t know about this document (or the documentary) before today. But now that I do, it only confirms what I’ve written about in times past: the powerful corporate élite are actually designing plans to take over the world’s economies and fashion its various countries into collectively owned corporate blocs, whereby people are no longer consumers, but hive-like workers.

    Now I know what you’re saying, and I totally agree with you…(It sounds like, “crazy talk,” right?) But there will come a day – however absurd it sounds – where national allegiances will be replaced with “corporate allegiances.” It might not happen tomorrow – or even a year from now – but trust me… Someday, it will happen…

    (CHECK OUT THIS LINK) http://www.youtube.com/v/IhydyxRjujU?fs=1&hl=en_US&rel=0


  2. […] September, 2010 I try to focus on cities, but last post I talked about Norway, and today I will talk about Spain. I also think that national policies can teach us lessons about […]


Comments are closed.

