Bicycles and local planning

October 29, 2010

Mobility is an important factor in the cities. In my home country Spain, there is a big debate about the use of bikes, and its promotion and problems. See for example the brad new blog in Spanish. I ♥ Bicis (bikes). Here in Denmark, I love biking to work everyday, ok I admit it, not with intense rain or snow.
What comes before the biker or a biking friendly infrastructure? One would say the biker. However, a correct planning it’s crucial. Here I show a video of the evolution of the cities of the Netherlands.

I think in Spain the most important thing that would change the whole mentality is to incentive housing property owners to have a bike parking. For example, in Denmark every building by law has to have a bike parking. I hope in the future some Spanish cities would change their mentality, some of them are taking good steps, but overall still the bike use is minimal. For now, we should keep asking, what comes first, the car or the car friendly infrastructure?

Thanks to Manuel Fernandez for the link, check his web Ateneo Naider.

4 Responses to “Bicycles and local planning”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Claus Østergaard, Carlos Freire-Gibb. Carlos Freire-Gibb said: Blog update: Bicycles and local planning https://carlos9900.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/bicycles-and-local-planning/ #netherlands #bicis #biking […]

  2. videos divertidos Says:

    I have just added this post to twitter

  3. rezeptfrei potenzmittel Says:

    Wonderful blog! I truly love how it? s easy on my eyes as well as the data are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!

  4. Yasmin Kerner Says:

    This well written article helped me a lot! Bookmarked your site, very interesting topics just about everywhere that I see here! I really appreciate the info, thank you.


Comments are closed.